Skip to content ↓

Key Stage 4

MFL in Year 10 & 11

Key Stage 4 Overview

The MFL GCSE is delivered in Years 10 and 11 and follows the AQA specifications using Expo and Mira textbooks. The GCSE qualification consists of four exams; one each in listening, speaking, reading and writing and all worth 25% grade of the final grade. ‚Äč

Pupils are supported with access to the Foreign Language Assistant and, if necessary, targeted interventions that involve more personalised support.

The timetable below is provided as a guideline:

Year 10 Scheme of Work
Term 1
  • Me, my family and friends.
  • Home, town, neighbourhood and region
  • My studies
  • Free time activities
Term 2
  • Healthy and unhealthy living
  • Life at school
  • Customs and festivals in French/Spanish speaking countries
Term 3
  • Travel and tourism
  • Education post-16
  • Marriage and partnerships

Year 11 Scheme of Work
Term 1
  • The environment
  • Charity/Voluntary work
  • Career choices and ambitions
  • Technology in everyday life
Term 2
  • Poverty and homelessness
  • Revision
Term 3
  • Revision