Skip to content ↓


Miss K Whitehead - Head of Department

Welcome to the Science Department

By studying the sciences, students build at solid foundation for understanding the material world. Scientific understanding is changing our lives and is vital to the world’s future prosperity. All students should learn essential aspects of the knowledge, methods, processes and uses of science. They should gain appreciation of how the complex and diverse phenomena of the natural world can be described in terms of a small number of key ideas that relate to the sciences and that are both inter-linked and of universal application.

Students should study the sciences in ways that help them to develop curiosity about the natural world, that give them an insight into how science works and that enable them to appreciate its relevance to their everyday lives. The scope and nature of the study should be broad, coherent, practical and satisfying. It should encourage students to be inspired, motivated and challenged by the subject and its achievements.

Science plays an integral role in the national curriculum, with all students studying a range of units, from Year 7 through to Year 11.

Students who have expressed a strong interest and aptitude for the subject can then go on to study Biology, Chemistry and Physics at A-Level in the Sixth Form.

Meet the Science Department

The department team consists of eleven members of staff. These are:

Name Title
Miss K Whitehead Head of Department
Mr A Eastwood Teacher of Science, Assistant Head,
Mrs E Lunt Second in Department (maternity leave)
Mrs A Noonan Teacher of Science 
Mr A Whitham Teacher of Science
Miss H Mitchelmore Teacher of Science and Careers Lead
Miss H Birch Teacher of Science
Mr B Sumner Teacher of Science, Head of Year
Mr N Howard Teacher of Science, KS3 Lead
Ms S Diffley Teacher of Science, DSL, Assistant Head
Mrs N Owen Teacher of Science
Mr L White Teacher of Science