Skip to content ↓

BTEC Extended Diploma in Sport

Physical Education in the Sixth Form

BTEC Extended Diploma in Sport (QCF) (Equivalent to 3 A Levels)

Entry Requirements

Five or more A*‐ C  (9-4 under the new grading system) grades at GCSE including English Language and Maths.

BTEC Level 2 Certificate in Sport at Merit level or GCSE Physical Education ‐ Grade C (4/5).

You will also be required to attend a practical assessment prior to the start of the course.

Course Content

This 18 unit course extends and deepens the specialist work‐related focus from the GCSE PE / BTEC level 2 Certificate in Sport. There is potential for the qualification to prepare students directly to employment and it is suitable for those who wish to enter a particular specialist area of work or University.

The Edexcel Level 3 BTEC Diploma in Sport consists of 8 core units plus 10 specialist units.

Core units
Unit 1 Principles of Anatomy and Physiology in Sport
Unit 2 The Physiology of Fitness
Unit 3 Assessing Risk in sport
Unit 4 Practical Team sports
Unit 5 Fitness Training and programming
Unit 6 Sports Coaching
Unit 7 Sports development
Unit 8 Fitness Testing for Sport & exercise

Specialist units (10 from the following 12)

Unit 1 Fitness testing for sport and exercise
Unit 2 Outdoor Adventurous activities
Unit 3 Leadership in Sport
Unit 4 Psychology for Sports performance
Unit 5 Work Experience Unit
Unit 6 Sport & Exercise Massage
Unit 7 Organising Sports events
Unit 8 Rules, regulations & Officiating
Unit 9 Sports Injuries
Unit 10 Currents Issues in Sport
Unit 11 Instructing Physical Activity
Unit 12 Exercise and Sports nutrition
Students take part in a 2 year mentoring scheme where they develop confidence and experience leading pupils within the PE department. Other courses included are; BASI Skiing award, ICC Rock Climbing award, FA (level 1) Coach award, EBBA (Level 1) referee award.

Learning Methods and Assessment

The course is both theoretical and practical. Assessment is through written work, observation, laboratory reports, practical performance and presentations that form assignments based on sports industry scenarios.

Students will complete 9 units per year for 2 years. Equivalent to 3 ‘A’ levels.

The course is assessed by using Pass, Merit and Distinction criteria, each of which carry a points weighting. The points are then converted into UCAS points. You can also convert the points into A level equivalent grades.