Skip to content ↓

BTEC Diploma (Diploma or Certificate)

Creative Digital Media

BTEC Diploma in Creative Media Production (Diploma or Certificate)

Entry Requirements

5 A* ‐ C ( 9-4 under the new grading system) grades at GCSE including English and Maths. If you completed a Creative and/or Media‐related course at Level 2 then you must have achieved a grade C (4/5). An ICT grade C (4/5) or above would be an advantage.

Course Content

The two year BTEC Extended Diploma and Certificate qualifications offer students a valuable, vocational insight into the vast creative media industry, with a wide range of both practical and theory units.

Students will complete a variety of engaging projects that are geared towards providing the relevant skills in order for them to progress onto university level, apprenticeship or employment; for which they will be fully prepared.

The course allows students to study 4 units for the Extended Certificate (indicated in bold), and 13 varied units for Extended Diploma students.



Media Representations (external)


Working in the Creative Media Industry


Digital Media Skills (external)


Pre Production Animation Portfolio


Specialist Subject Investigation (external)


Media Campaigns


Responding to a Commission (external)


Website Production


Digital Magazine Production


TV Advertising Production


Film and Video Editing Techniques for a Music Video


Script writing


Concept Art for Computer Games


Learning Methods and Assessment

​The course is structured around unit assignments which will allow students to make realistic media products using professional facilities and resources.

Internally assessed units will be assessed through an ongoing‐process throughout the 2 years, offering valuable feedback and guidance to which the students can respond.

Externally assessed units are assessed by the exam board.

Final grades are equivalent to 3 A levels (Extended Diploma) or 1 A level (Extended Certificate).

Students can achieve the following grades:

  • Distinction * (A*),
  • Distinction (A),
  • Merit (B),
  • Pass (C).

There are appropriate enrichment activities and outings organised throughout the 2 years to enhance student learning.